Home, Parenting

That used to be me…

That used to be me sat wide eyed watching The Snowman in amazement,

That used to be me leaving a carrot for Rudolph, and a mince pie for Santa Claus,

That used to be me excitedly listening to my Dad read The Night Before Christmas

That used to be me peering out of the window for a hopeful glance of the big jolly fellow his sleigh, and reindeer’s

That used to be me waking up at a ridiculous time in the morning to see if he’d been, and running into my parents bedroom to wake them

That used to be me busting through the living room door in excitement discovering ‘he’d been’ and left us lots of gifts

That used to be me in my element playing with all the new found toys and gifts

That used to be me devouring and enjoying every mouthful of my mums beautiful Christmas dinner

That used to be me watching all the Christmas TV cuddled up happily on the sofa with my family

That used to be me, so tired and exhausted at the end of our Christmas adventure filled with magic

That used to be me, but now I’m the parent watching The Snowman with my wide eyed children

Eating the mince pie and drinking the sherry (perks of the job), this is me now

Reading The Night Before Christmas in as hopefully exciting way as my Dad did, this is me now

Trying to be as careful as possible not to be heard or spotted with presents in hand by my little people, this is me now

Been woken up at a ridiculous time in the morning by two very excited and eager little children (just another hour please), this is me now

Busting into the living room just as excitedly as the children so I can see their faces light up at the thought Santa has been and left lots of gifts, this is me now

Tidying up the mountain of ripped wrapping paper and boxes piling up, this is me now

Cooking the Christmas dinner and trying desperately not to burn or set fire to anything, this is me now

Cuddling up on the sofa with my boys and watching the Christmas TV, this is me now

So tired and exhausted at the end of our busy but magical Christmas, this is me now and I wouldn’t change it for the world.Untitled

 

3 thoughts on “That used to be me…”

Leave a Reply

